Going Viral

I am — right now — the most sick I’ve ever been. Yeah I know: how sick can I really be if I’m writing this?

Well, trust me. Sick. A virus, derivation unknown, has made the back of my throat look like a fucking war zone, and, for all of the last six days (today included) the simple act of swallowing has been terribly painful. Lemon juice on a fresh cut painful.

For four days in a row it’s been too painful to eat, and for even longer sleep has been something greatly hoped for but seldom accomplished. And frankly I’m starting to feel a little druggy. All the while I haven’t been consuming food, or sleeping well, I have been tackling my doctor’s long checklist of medications: acetaminophen, diphenhydramine, ibuprofen, fexofenadine, psuedoephedrine, lidocaine, aluminum hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, simethicone, diphenhydramine hydrochloride, and some antibiotics ‘just in case.’

Death of Chatterton

Passing the time has not been easy, which leads this dreadful tale finally to here. Forgive me, it turns out there are only so many things to do when you don’t feel like doing anything. Only so many podcasts, TV shows, Guardian articles, click baits on Facebook, hot baths, and unsuccessful naps.

So then, finally: what has this wretched experience taught me?

Nothing. It’s been awful and I can’t wait for it to end.

About newjonnytransit

Same as ever, only better.
This entry was posted in About. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going Viral

  1. Rebekah AKA big sis x says:

    Hi Jonny, mum told me you were very sick and that you said your throat was like a war zone. Mentioned you had medication for hay fever and some other random condition that I can’t for the life of me remember. Much harder to be sick and REST as parent, I know that well. All I can say is I hope you get better soon……after all we have our long awaited family reunion next mo th and I’m soooooooooo excited. Take care, love you lots little bro xxxxxxx

  2. Get well soon buddy! Do you listen to Men in Blazers?

    • Thanks Abu! I caught on to Men in Blazers a bit late, but now am definitely a fan. Would also recommend the Football Ramble podcast…. Hope life is treating you well.

Leave a Reply

