Elephants & Mice (50 All-Time Greatest Films)

50 Days 50 Films…One a Day for 50 Straight Days: My All-Time 50 Favorite Films

(Just a single rule: mix-tape-style, no more than one film per director. You know, because otherwise the whole thing would be pointless.)

(#42) Dumbo


Animation     •     dir. Sam Armstrong et al     •     1941     •     USA

Dumbo
My little daughter is usually fast asleep by the time I check in on her, still clutching her bunny rabbit’s ears and often in positions that seem anything but comfortable – like in a squat pyramid, with her bum at the top. What I like most of all, though, is to find her almost asleep. Those times, Colette is always a real treat – unfailingly happy to see me, and more often than not in a silly sort of mood, as though some whimsical dream were forming and just waiting for her peep holes to shut. A couple nights ago she offered me a hand and I shook it. Our first ever proper handshake. Well, she thought it just about the funniest thing ever – and sure enough, so did I. Jackie – mom – rushed in to join us, and every time Colette’s hand shot up we took turns to shake it, all three of us laughing like mad and seemingly without a care in the world.

Colette is slightly more than 18 months old. Of all the things I’m looking forward to doing with her, watching movies is right at the top of the list. As she gets older: the early Disney classics, then Toy StoryMary Poppins, E.T., and Kes, and Hugo, and maybe even Les quatre cents coup someday. (And – frankly – whatever she seeks out for herself!) I know I’ll just want to keep on seeing the thrill of it all in her eyes, and hearing what she made of it after. Maybe it’s been over 20 years since I last watched Dumbo. Maybe it was the first time I ever fell in love.


Speech bubble
Make believe we saw it together… leave a comment!

About newjonnytransit

Same as ever, only better.
This entry was posted in TV & Film and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Elephants & Mice (50 All-Time Greatest Films)

  1. Robert E Main says:

    Drink! If my memory seers me correctly on the VHS release there were two “Easter egg” cartoons which Damien found more enjoyable than the film. He actually fast forwarded the whole film (those were the days) just to watch them! I think it was one about 3 kittens and the other was Noah ark

  2. Mary says:

    Ah yes, those VHS tapes! Time to sling, I think!

  3. Big Sis says:

    Totally agree mum……;-)

  4. Pingback: All Things Said & Done (50 All-Time Greatest Films) | The New Jonny Transit Blog

Leave a Reply

