Aftershave & Slapstick (50 All-Time Greatest Films)

50 Days 50 Films…One a Day for 50 Straight Days: My All-Time 50 Favorite Films

(Just a single rule: mix-tape-style, no more than one film per director. You know, because otherwise the whole thing would be pointless.)

(#45) Home Alone


Comedy     •     dir. Chris Columbus     •     1990     •     USA

Home Alone
George’s Marvellous Medicine was one of many Roald Dahl books I couldn’t read fast enough as a young boy. Its plot and its characters, however, have long since faded from memory. There was some kid – possibly one like me – called George and, sure enough, he wanted to make a marvellous medicine (I don’t recall why or for whom). No matter, what I really do remember is how forcefully I wanted to follow young George’s experimental lead. It seemed like the most fun a boy could ever hope to have: a wild, pioneering quest of great import. I wanted AT ONCE to grab and mix together every liquid thing in the house – boldly, but with great trepidation too. What if my marvellous concoction bubbles over? What if it fizzes! What if it pops! What if it turns jet black… or melts my crucial wooden stirring spoon! What then?

As an even younger boy, I gotta tell you my bunk-bed at bedtime positively was a spaceship. And I was its captain – my crew down below – hurling through the galaxies on far-ranging, top-secret missions. (Snoopy always my trusted confidant and loyal number two.) All of which is to say: surely the great shame of adulthood is slowly forgetting what it’s like to be a kid. Behold the ruins of a once-great imagination… Now try thinking about your responsibilities for a second without sighing. Remember how exciting it was the first you stayed up past midnight, or how thrilling Christmas Day used to be? Just barely, I do. With any luck I’ll also keep on remembering how much the nine-year-old me loved Home Alone. I would have given up almost anything (not Snoopy, nor mum and dad, but probably a sibling or two) to be Macaulay Culkin. To be, like him in Home Alone, a professional show-off, running around, larking around, and getting up to all sorts of crazy mischief. Because that’s the other thing about adulthood: not enough crazy mischief.


Speech bubble
Make believe we saw it together… leave a comment!

About newjonnytransit

Same as ever, only better.
This entry was posted in TV & Film and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Aftershave & Slapstick (50 All-Time Greatest Films)

  1. Robert E Main says:

    Wow 5 in and seen 3 of them 60% average don’t think that will improve considering my poor taste in films.

    I’m going to start a drink bingo here so for each film I see its a drink and if I own it I get a shot as well

    Luckily home aloe was a free gift from iTunes last Xmas.

    Looking forward to #44 onwards

  2. Mary says:

    Snoopy amazingly, after his galactic travels, is safely tucked up in sunny Suffolk, enjoying his retirement after hanging up his spacesuit!

  3. Mary says:

    I wasn’t going to mention that, as it’s a very ‘sore’ subject! Glad to say an experienced surgeon was on hand to do some very neat stitches!

  4. Big Sis says:

    Snoopy……how can we forget snoopy or his ‘accident’ and robs ‘rabbit’……I think snoopy was originally my toy if I recall correctly? Glad they are both enjoying their ‘retirement’

  5. Pingback: All Things Said & Done (50 All-Time Greatest Films) | The New Jonny Transit Blog

Leave a Reply

