32 Greatest Modern Sitcoms (Chasers)

It’s been a while round about these parts, so I figured what the hey? – time for another six-parter blog.

Copying myself (not that there’s anything wrong with that), I’ll spend the next few days following the lead of my earlier – dare I say it, popular indie-music competition. Starting with 32 mere contenders (think Marlon Brando in On The Waterfront), I’ll keep on reducing the field by a half every day until only a single, exceptional one of these is left standing: the winner (think Gene Kelly in Singin’ in the Rain).

Only, instead of choosing between sometimes-obscure Britpop albums, this time round my search is for the greatest modern sitcom! (And, naturally, by ‘modern’ I mean roughly since the late-80s but mostly more recent, and not including stuff that’s animated.)

It should all be a whole lot of fun, and hopefully you’ll have a good time following along as well – without, finger’s crossed, getting too mad at me for my idiot opinions… Either way, I think I’m right in saying that NOW is the perfect time to kick back again and enjoy a good old-fashioned chuckle. Right? After all, the Royal Wedding is over and Bin Laden is dead – so there’s nothing else going on anymore, is there? We’ve reached the end of news, so let’s have a giggle. (Quickly, mind. Before al-Qaeda finally succeeds in the tricky task of blowing up its underpants. Or Harry decides to get married too.)

Here’s Round One, drawn at random and illustrated with a fussy kind of neatness (my rudimentary grasp of Microsoft Publisher + the too much time I have on my hands):

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

 Versus 

The results? Tomorrow, my friends, tomorrow.

About newjonnytransit

Same as ever, only better.
This entry was posted in TV & Film and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 32 Greatest Modern Sitcoms (Chasers)

  1. Pauline Quirk ate my hamster says:

    Why is Birds of a Feather not on this list? Are you some kind of imbecile?

  2. Baggypance says:

    This one’s gonna be a toughie… I have a feeling I will be sharing my opinion a lot with you over the next week! I also have a sneaky feeling I’m going to disagree a lot with your choices…

    • Hey ho, Rob. Thanks for your contribution, as ever… Your sneaky feelings are always welcome! (And someday I’ll do a top-five Bruce albums, then you can really disagree with me!)

Leave a Reply

